Deities in Arulmigu Brahmapureeswarar Temple Tirupattur

       The Stala Vruksham is Magizha maram which is about 150 years old and is found in the complex outside the temple which houses 7 out of the 12 lingams. It is believed that Sage Pathanjali often left his physical body and stayed in the astral form for many days in this magizha maram and performed penance.

Presiding Deity : Sri BRAHMAPUREESHWARAR (Lord Shiva)

In the form of a Swayambu (self manifested) Lingam Since Lord Shiva absolved Brahma of His sins, He is known as Brahmapureeswarar in this temple. The sanctum sanctorum of Sri Brahmapureeswarar) is 300 ft from the main entrance. There are 7 entrances leading to the sanctum sanctorum, significant of the 7 days of the week Yet the sanctum is filled with natural light and the Presiding Deity can be seen clearly from the main entrance. Also, sunlight falls directly on the Presiding Deity three days in a year - on the 15th, 16th and 17th day of the Tamil month of Panguni.


Lord Brahma installed and worshipped 12 Shiva Lingams at Sri Brahmapureeswarar Temple. All the 12 Shiva Lingams are within the Temple complex. The Theertham from where Lord Brahma filled water to perform puja is present in the Nandavanam (temple garden).

These 12 shrines of Lord Shiva which comprise the Bramhapureeswarar Temple complex are :

  • Sri Brahmapureeswarar - Presiding Deity
  • Sri Pazhamalai Nathar - Opposite Yogi Patanjali Shrine
  • Sri Pathala Eswarar - Near Sri Chandikeshwarar Shrine
  • Sri Thayumanavar - Entrance to Devi Shrine
  • Sri Manduga Nathar - Garden adjacent to Devi Shrine
  • Sri Ekambareswarar - Garden adjacent to Devi Shrine
  • Sri Arunachaleswarar - Garden adjacent to Devi Shrine
  • Sri Kailasa Nathar - Garden adjacent to Devi Shrine
  • Sri Jambukeshwarar - Garden adjacent to Devi Shrine
  • Sri Kalathi Nathar - Garden adjacent to Devi Shrine
  • Sri Sabthagereswarar - Garden adjacent to Devi Shrine
  • Sri Sudharaneswarar - Near Navagraha Shrine


Devi Parvathi gave back Lord Brahma all his sheen. And hence the Devi here is called Brahma Sampath Gowri. The Devi Shrine is situated adjacent to Sri Brahmapureeswarar Shrine on the way to the Nanadavanam (Temple garden).


The deity of Lord Brahma is a majestic 6 feet high. It is fully decorated with Turmeric. Lord Brahma is in meditative pose sitting in Padmasana on a lotus. Lord Brahma's Shrine is situated in the inner praharam of the Temple, as one turns left before entering Sri Brahmapureeswarar Shrine.


Lord Shanmuganathar, popularly known as Lord Subramanya is the son of Lord Shiva and Devi Parvathi. Reverred in Hindu mythology as the God of War, He sports the Vel (spear) as His Divine weapon. He is also revered as the source of all knowledge and is the dispeller of ignorance. He is the curer of all diseases. According to legends, He explained the significance of "OM", the Pranava Manthra, to His father, Lord Shiva. The Lord has two consorts, Devi Devasena and Devi Valli. Devi Valli signifies the "Earth" or the "Kriya Sakthi" while Devi Devasena signifies "Heavens" or "Ichcha Sakthi". Lord Shanmuganathar's Shrine is located near Sri Karpaga Vinayakar Shrine in the inner praharam of the Temple.


Lord Dakshinamurthy, is reverred as the ultimate Guru - the embodiment of knowledge and the destroyer of ignorance. ‘Dakshina’ in Sanskrit means south. Dakshinamurti literally means 'one who is facing south.’ Lord Dakshinamurthy is present in every Shiva temple on the southern outer wall of the santum sanctorum. Sri Dakshinamurthy is a manifestation of Lord Shiva as the Guru of all knowledge. It is the personification of Lord Shiva as the teacher of yoga, music, bestower of wisdom, and the giving the exposition on the Shastras. The Shrine of Lord Dakshinamurthy is adjacent to the Shrine of Lord Brahma in the southern praharam of the Temple.


The Jeeva Samadhi of the Founder of Yoga, Maharishi Patanjali is located adjacent to the Shrine of Lord Brahma.


Also referred to as Saptha Matrikas, they are the inherent Sakthis which resides and activates the Devas. According to Hindu mythology, when Devi Ambaal was engaged in the Sumbha Nisumbha war, the Devas decided to send their sakthis to help Devi Ambaal. Stories about Sapta Matrikas are found in the Varaha Purana, Kurma Purana and the Mahabharata. From each of six Devas, six Sakthis came out. Lord Brahma - Brahmi

  • Lord Maheshvara - Maheshwari
  • Lord Kumara - Kaumaari
  • Lord Vishnu - Vaishnnavi
  • Lord Varaha - Vaaraahi
  • Lord Indra - Aindri

The seventh Sakthi was from Devi Ambaal Herself. She was known as Chaamunda. Sri Saptha Maatagal deities are near the Jeeva Samadhi of Maharishi Patanjali.


Gajalakshmi is one of the manifestations of Mahalakshmi. The Devi is depicted seated on a Lotus, flanked on both sides by Gaja (elephant). Devi Gajalakshmi is the harbringer of prosperity and good luck. There is a seperate sannathi for Devi Gajalakshmi in the inner praharam of the Temple.


Lord Kala Bhairava is that manifestation of Lord Shiva who controls the growth and management of time. Whoever wants to spend or manage their time in a proper manner should pray him. Propitiating Lord Kala Bhairava will ensure protection. Lord Kala Bhairava is the protecting Deity in all Shiva temples; the Temple key is traditionally placed before Bhairava Shrine.Worship of Lord Kala Bhairava ensures removal of all black-magic effects. Lord Kala Bhairava Shrine is situated in the inner praharam, as one turns right before entering Sri Brahmapureeswarar Shrine.


Sri Chandikeshwarar, known for his devotion to Lord Shiva is believed to be the Chief of the Ghanas, guarding the abode of Lord Shiva. It is a ritual to clap both hands gently in front of the Saint’s Shrine to attract his attention. There are two beliefs for this ritual. a. It is believed that Sri Chandikeswarar forever lives in a state of deep meditation, not realizing who comes to the temple. He is the one who keeps records of our visits to the temple, and hence, we should clap our hands or snap our fingers outside his shrine, so that he realizes our presence. b. Another belief is to show Him that your hands are 'clean' and that you are not taking anything out of the Temple! 'Siva Sothu Kulanasam'. Even a speck of dust should not be taken out from a Shiva Temple.


The Sun is the source of life, light, and all energy in the cosmos. In Hinduism, the Sun is worshipped as Lord Surya. The Sun God is the source of life, and He is worshipped as ‘Pranadhata’ the life-giver. ‘Surya Namaskaar’, Salutations to Sun, is one of the most ancient systems of Indian exercise. It is the art of solar vitalization through a combination of 12 different postures. Lord Surya Shrine is situated in the inner praharam of the Temple, as one turns right before entering Sri Brahmapureeswarar Shrine.


The Navagrahas play an important role in Hindu religion. They are considered to be the Cosmic influences on the lives of every living being on Earth. And hence they are supposed to have a significant impact on the lives of every living being. Hindus worship the Navagrahas for peace and harmony, for removal of obstacles and, for success in all their efforts. The Navagrahas are found in every Shiva Temple. The Navagraha Shrine is situated just before the entrance to the Nandavanam (Temple Gardens) in the first praharam of the Temple.